Sunday Scribblings #59: Second Chance

Standard

I’ve been playing with this writing prompt in my head since I found the Sunday Scribblings blog last night, with several different things I wanted to write about presenting themselves. My life as it is now is just where I want it to be. Because it is, I don’t think that I would want to change or do anything over that has come before.  The things that have happened in my life to make me what I am today have not always been things that I could control.

But — if I could go back and I could be sure that it would not affect my life now, it would be to something around the time that I was 15. Being 15, my sophistication level was extremely low, along with my sense of self esteem and/or self confidence. Essentially, this is the story:

  • Girl meets boy #1
  • Girl falls in love with boy #1
  • Boy #1 breaks up with girl and girl is crushed
  • Girl meets boy #2
  • Boy #2 is very much in love with girl, but
  • Girl thinks she still loves boy #1, so when boy #1 asks her to go back out again
  • Girl breaks up with boy #2

And, son of a gun, it seems that she was just so used to wanting boy #1 that she didn’t realize that it was boy #2 that she loved all along!!!

I’ve often wondered what would have happened if I hadn’t been that stupid. I wonder what happened to boy #2. I wonder if I screwed up his life in a major way. I wonder if he thinks of me, and if so, what he thinks of me. I wonder, I wonder….

2 thoughts on “Sunday Scribblings #59: Second Chance

  1. inlandempiregirl

    I just laughed when I read this. I teach middle school students and this plays out every day with some boy and girl. I can’t even keep up!

Leave a Reply

