Sunday Scribblings #62 Town and Country

Standard

I like to think that we live in the perfect blend of Town & Country. From where I sit on my hill in a village of about 7,000 +/-, I am enjoying the fresh air with birds flitting in and out among the trees, squirrels chasing each other and picturesque rivers, but I’m no further than 5 minutes away from schools, grocery shopping, book stores, antique shops, and the library. If I feel the need for more rural surroundings, it’s a short drive of 3 or 4 miles north or west and I will be in the midst of meadows, hills, and rock walls. If you would like to take a peek at my corner of Connecticut, Click here I have to say, it is a lovely little town, but I am totally biased, having lived here 20+ years.

And from where I sit on my hill in a village of about 7,000+/-, if I feel the need to visit a city, Boston and Hartford are both about an hour away, New York City is about 2 1/2 hours by train, and Providence is about 45 minutes. Great restaurants, professional baseball and football teams, concert venues, museums, hospitals and fabulous shopping are all within reach of my little village. It’s wonderful to be in a much slower paced town and knowing that the faster paced life is lurking just outside if it is needed.

2 thoughts on “Sunday Scribblings #62 Town and Country

  1. inlandempiregirl

    Wow…you are in a fabulous location. The video was gorgeous. Actually, there is a town of about 6000 about thirty minutes from me and Spokane is two hours away and it is a fairly large city.

  2. Marcy

    Well, I will say that the town doesn’t always look as gorgeous as that video did — marketing and PR ya know — but it is very convenient. How big is Spokane? Bigger than a bread box, smaller than a ‘fridge?

Leave a Reply

