Darling Daughter’s Putt Putts

Standard

I’m not sure of the origination of the name putt putts, but that’s what they are called in this corner of Connecticut. I’m not even sure if I spelled it correctly. The carpeting in our house is a Berber off white with flecks of colors (oy, what were we thinking? rolling eyes smiley) so I decided that I could probably make these for my daughter and son in law when they come over to visit. One pair down, one to go. I used Red Heart yarn — it’s a little less pricey and will still stand up to alot of wear.

This is the pattern that I got from my friend Kimmie, who got it from her Memere. I haven’t been able to find one on line or in Ravelry, (I’m probably not looking in the right place) so I thought I would write it down in case someone else is looking for it.

curlicue line

Kimmie’s Memere’s Knitted Putt Putts (Slippers)

#10 needles

Worsted weight yarn, using 2 strands at a time or bulky yarn, single strand. I used just about one skein of Red Heart Super Saver yarn (5 oz skein)

Cast on 41 stitches

Row one – K5, P1, K29, P1, K5

Row two – K15, P1, K9, P1, K15

Repeat these two rows until you have 13 ridges for an adult and 9 ridges for a child

For the next two rows, bind off 6 sts at the beginning of each row, then continue across in pattern.

You will have 29 stitches on your needle.

Row one – K1, P1 across, ending K1.

Row two – P1, K1 across, ending P1

Repeat these two rows until you are 1/2″ from what you would like the finished length to be.

For the next two rows, K2 together across row. There will be 7 stitches (+ or -, don’t sweat it). Cut a 12″ strand of yarn and thread it through a needle. Run your yarn through the stitches of the toe and pull tight. Run it through again for good measure. Continue sewing up the instep of the slipper.

Sew up the back.

Voila! A slipper! Now cast on for the other one!!

 

 

One thought on “Darling Daughter’s Putt Putts

Leave a Reply

