Sunday Scribblings #94 Fellow Traveler

Standard

Sometimes the Sunday Scribblings prompt brings a story to mind immediately. Others, like this prompt, take a bit of mulling over. This is what I mulled while knitting.

I do not know the name of or what I should call my Fellow Traveler. My FT has been with me since the day I was born and will be with me until I die. I think everyone, to one extent or another, has a similar FT in their lives.

You see, I am not a fan of organized religion. It’s a wonderful thing for other people and I would never condemn their worshiping in what they believe. I admire their confident faith in their God/Allah/Jehovah. But it’s not for me. Tried several, found all to be wanting for one reason or another, finally decided to go in another direction. Not that I am an atheist, however. That word just grates on my nerves. Agnostic would be a better term. And I am a nice Agnostic.

I think of myself as a spiritual person. I believe in something, but I’m not sure what it is. I try always to do the correct thing, not just the easy. I try to be a good person, pass on good feelings to other people, be dependable and reliable. I believe that my FT is the reason that I am as good a person as I am. I also believe that being the best person I can be and making the best decisions that I can make is something that comes from within me, with probably more than a little suggestion from my FT, who is always nudging me in the right direction.

Thank you, Fellow Traveler.

If you would like read more about Fellow Travelers, click here for Sunday Scribblings.

9 thoughts on “Sunday Scribblings #94 Fellow Traveler

  1. Yep, that’s how I feel, too! My students were talking about this just the other day. Nice to see them voicing their opinions. I enjoyed reading this post from someone with common sense!

  2. It’s interesting that you could put my thought into words so well. I was born and raised Catholic, dropped that after the fifth child was born, then joined the Unitarian church for a few years, now I don’t go at all. My husband is quite devout, is active in the Congregational Church in Woodstock, and I go with him about 3-4 times a year because it’s a pleasing ritual, but it’s not anything I really believe in anymore. Mostly, I just feel that it’s very strange that here we are in a universe of stars and no-one really knows why or what happens after we die. I’ll really be curious to find out.

  3. Hello Marcy, I followed you here from Sherill’s new blog. Interesting post. I share a lot of your ideas on this subject. Though not considering myself either atheist or agnostic as I do believe in a Supreme Being/Power, but one that does not require us to slavishly follow rules and rituals that no one can agree upon. I think it’s up to each one of us to walk through life as best we can, being as kind as we can to others and making the world a little bit better in some way. (Flashes Miss America smile.)

Leave a Reply

