Middle of the Night Thoughts

Standard

It’s 2:02AM in New England. I had a two week reprieve from the insomnia that has plagued me for years. It was great while it lasted but now it’s back.

Curlicue

Our new Berber carpet was shampooed just a bit ago. Tonight, the cat decided to barf all over it. Do cats have some kind of gene that makes them barf only on fabric/carpet covered items? I’ve never heard of any cat barfing on wood floor.

Curlicue

Riding Lessons

I’m reading another fabulous, reading just to be entertained book. Great flawed characters and well fleshed out personalities. It’s a horsey book, and usually that’s not my thing at all. (Sara, if you read this post, please don’t be offended) But my good friend K told me to read it because she knew I would like it. It’s called Riding Lessons by Sara Gruen. If you would like to read the editorial reviews, click here. My synopsis — girl has exciting life ahead, girl meets with tragedy, girl settles for for a watered down life, girl gets her passion back. My kind of book. Buy it!

Curlicue

Lovebird1I’m coming down the home stretch — I am 3/4 done with son in law’s socks and should be finis tomorrow. After looking long and hard for yarn to make a pair of socks for myself, I ordered SC-S Lovebird by Seacoast Handpainted Yarns. Holy moly, my mouth waters just looking at it. For sure I will not be able to put it down once I get it so I need to finish the SIL’s sockies. I still have to choose a pattern but I may just use the one that I’ve been using for the last few pairs that I’ve made. It’s Cat Bordhi’s Simple Sock pattern from Socks Soar on Two Circular Needles. A very easy pattern to follow with techniques using 2 circular needles. Sure beats DPN’s.

 

Curlicue

 

Inland Empire Girl’s blog has a Sibling Assignment on it from Raymond Pert to focus on a piece of music that you listened to between the ages of twenty five and thirty. If I were asked for my favorite piece of music from that period, it would be this one.

3 thoughts on “Middle of the Night Thoughts

  1. fireflynights

    I often work far into the night or all night on the computer. Makes for a very sleepy day the next day.

    I don’t spend much time reading non-fiction anymore, but the Sara Gruen book you mentioned sounds interesting. I’ve ordered it from Amazon and look forward to reading it. Thanks for letting us know about it.

  2. Marcy

    I agree that it seemed much easier then – or maybe we just had less on our minds then? I love to turn on the all 70’s radio on the computer and just drift……….

Leave a Reply

