Sunday Scribblings #103 — I Just Don’t Get It

Standard

Because it’s been such a long week (insert long drawn out sigh accompanied by morose violin music here) I’m taking the easy way out. Here’s a list of I Just Don’t Get Its.

  • There is a song that rolls around in my head almost constantly. It’s a round that I learned when I was in grade school (40 years ago!!!) and it goes: “Kookaburra sits in the old gum tree, merry merry king of the bush is he, laugh kookaburra, laugh kookaburra, gay your life must be”. I do NOT understand why I can’t shake this stupid little song loose.
  • I am the opposite of an anorexic. Anorexics look in the mirror and lament how fat they are. I look in the mirror and truly believe I’m looking at a size 10 me but I’m really a size 14 me. Imagine my surprise when size 10 jeans don’t fit!!
  • I have slept pretty well for the past 8 or 9 nights. Tonight I am wide awake. I have done nothing different to account for this sleeplessness, but there you have it. There’s a nice moon out tonight, tho.
  • I’ve been looking at my hands lately. I have my grandmother’s hands. So does my sister. I can remember tracing Nanny’s veins on the top of her hands when I was little, and now my GrandDolly does the same thing to my hands. I feel a very strange connection linking me to GrandDolly and Nanny. Actually, I do get this now, but I didn’t for awhile.
  • There was a guy that pulled out in front of me last week. Pulled out is not quite right. He eased out in front of me. I was booking along about 45mph with no one in back of me. Another car was coming toward me, also with nobody in back of her. I laid on the horn, because I was convinced this person couldn’t see either one of us. I was wrong. He gives me the finger. I don’t get that. HE pulled out in front of me — why would he get so offended when I voiced my displeasure of him almost hitting my car. Bozo…….
  • I don’t get why people are so self absorbed as to not notice anything in the world outside of their little orbit. Monumental drama over diddly, and totally unaware of the big picture in the real world or how they are contributing to the problems. Honestly, some days I would like to just cuff some of the up side the head.
  • And why would anybody want to be president anyway???

There are more I Just Don’t Get Its here at Sunday Scribblings.

15 thoughts on “Sunday Scribblings #103 — I Just Don’t Get It

  1. Thanks but I just don’t want to get stuck with ‘Kookaburra sits … so I’m sending it right back to you … I thought it was an Aussie ’round’ … 😉

  2. I share your pain about the inconsiderate driver. My own rule of thumb is “Don’t pull out onto the road if doing so will require oncoming traffic to slow down.” I think it’s a pretty good practice. Unfortunately, most of the other drivers in the Mid-Atlantic don’t share my opinion. Oh well!

    Happy spring to you!

  3. first i love that song and haven’t thought of it in ages… so i am hoping it will get stuck in my head for awhile…

    and about becoming our matriarchs… mine is not so much my grandmother,, but my mother… we are sooooo different… and yett there are things about us that are exactly the same… how does that happen????

  4. How about substituting a different round such as the one that I keep getting stuck on: “Row, row, row your boat gently down the stream…”?

    I’ve always figured that any one who WANTED to be president was obviously not qualified, either by reason of arrogance or feeble mindedness.

  5. What a great mixture of observations. Lucky I don’t know the tune for your song, or I’d have it. My “always in my head” song is one my mother used to sing – “I’ll be loving you – always”. I just hear the first line over and over again.

  6. Patois

    I’ve got that song in my head all the time, but that’s because it’s a bit of a play on my youngest’s name. I love this list of things. I feel like I just watched an Andy Rooney clip.

  7. what an excellent post!!.. i laughed at kookaberra song… when i was in australia i use to sit in the middle of nowhere with all these eucalyptus trees with the kookeberras singin that song… size 14 me too… the rest are just as good… traffic and people hilarious… and the one abt the president absolutely!!!… thank you i enjoyed your list… the one abt your hands is poignant…

  8. Laughed at the Kookaburra song..I remember singing it at Guides (Canadian). I was out shopping when I saw my mother reflected in a store window. As she lives an hour away I was very pleased and turned to greet her. You got it! It was my reflection Yikes, how did that happen? I have her hands too.
    I enjoyed the post very much.
    As a Canadian I observe that the “Office of the President” appears to be treated with almost “divine” respect by the American populace. Ergo buddy wants to grow up and be President. When he gets elected he acts like divine Providence and then the populace asks, ” Who does he think he is ,God?”…..just an observation from the outside looking in.

Leave a Reply

