PhotoHunt Metal

Standard

This picture was taken on Sanibel Island, FL in 2005. I’d never heard of a metal lighthouse before learning about this one. Made entirely of iron, it’s 98 feet tall and was first lit in 1884. There’s a lot more history behind it and if you are interested in reading about it, CLICK HERE.

If you ever are in that area and would like to check it out, parking is at a premium. The best way to see the lighthouse is to rent a bike. We rented from Billy’s Rentals. He has bikes of every kinds at and reasonable prices. The link has lots of other information if you are interested. Also, the J.N. “Ding” Darling National Wildlife Refuge is at the other end of the island and is a great place to bike also.

LIGHTHOUSE
3 thoughts on “PhotoHunt Metal

  1. I love Sanibel Island, I have not been there for years, I think I will go again, my original photo post had some old farming iron and other farmhouse items, I added a second entry because of something I saw while visiting other photo hunts, please stop by both, happy easter

Leave a Reply

