Sunday Scribblings #104 – Out of this World

Standard

It’s been said by scientists much more knowledgeable than me that it is doubtless that life exists on other planets. I would hate to think that human life on our planet, whose common denominator seems to be violence, is the only life in the universe. Kind of arrogant, eh?

I have no scientific evidence, but I believe there is life out there somewhere. Probably looking back at us and saying “uh, uh, not going there — they shoot first and ask questions later.” Just kidding. But really, if there are others out there and they are watching us, what can they possibly think of us and our planet? We have a history that reeks of violence and war and disease and waste. We’ve learned nothing from our history except that it will repeat itself — and we don’t seem to want to stop it. Y’know, when my GrandDolly is for instance trying to get upon the couch, if it doesn’t work after a couple of times, she changes her tack. She learns it that quickly and she’s only 18 months old!!

Good grief, where was I going with this……

Oh yeah — so anyway, my first introduction to outer space and fantasy and other worlds was in a book. It was given to me by a librarian when I was in fifth or sixth grade. You’ve all heard of it, I’m sure. A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle. Reading it, I could SOOOO empathize with Meg Murry. We were about the same age, I didn’t seem to fit in anywhere, I felt like such an ugly duckling, I had abandonment issues, and blah, blah, blah. The battle between good (Meg, Charles Wallace and Calvin) and evil (The Black Thing and It) that takes place on Camazotz seemed to me to be a fair trade off with my life. It couldn’t possibly be any worse than what I dealt with on a daily basis at school. More on that in another post for another day.

I was bright enough to know that this was a work of fiction of course, but it opened up the idea to me that there was more to life than what we know on our planet. This conclusion has stayed with me until this very day. So even though there is no absolute proof, I am at least sure that the possibility is there — and someday I hope that scientists will be able to substantiate this fact. Perhaps knowing that there is life elsewhere is just the kick in the pants our society needs to finally work together and make this planet the marvel that it could be. Maybe then our home on earth would be hospitable enough that we would have visitors from “out there” that would be as interested in learning about us as we would be learning about them. Just think, there might be a kid out there right now, looking at our sun through a telescope and wondering if there might be other life on other planets…….

8 thoughts on “Sunday Scribblings #104 – Out of this World

  1. Patois

    That book is my all-time favorite. I recently read the four-book series with my eldest. I tried to get my 9-year-old daughter into it, but she just wasn’t ready for it. I guess we’re too alike: I saw much of myself in Meg. (Well, except the brilliance part.)

  2. Nice post! This is the second reference I’ve seen to A Wrinkle in Time. I tried to find the book some time ago (shortly after her death) and couldn’t hook up with one – I’ll try again. Thanks for the lovely read.

  3. gee, to believe we are the only ones? a bit egotistical, don’t you think? we cannot possibly be the only ones! i believe there is life out there for the universe is vast; however, that “life” may not be as we know it to be – it would more likely be some complex organism that we couldn’t even identify as life form. now, whether they would be hospitable? i don’t know….

    good post.

Leave a Reply

