Sunday Scribblings #112 — Quitting II

Standard

This just kind of shot into my head during the drive home from work today.

I wrote in my prior post that I had quit smoking some years ago. It was just time. I was sick of the cost and the way I felt and any number of other reasons. I tried to be a considerate smoker — I was careful to not invade non-smokers space. I’m sure that I wasn’t successful all of the time, and for that, I am truly sorry.

However, now that I am a non-smoker myself, I realize that quitting smoking has made me into a non-smoking snob. (That’s Darling Daughter’s name for it.) I get extremely and boy do I mean EXTREMELY offended when someone is around me and smoking. I am irritated to the degree that I will tell the person smoking that I would appreciate it very much if they would take their cigarettes or whatever and go someplace where I don’t have to breathe in the smoke.

It took me a long, hard time to break that disgusting habit. I feel now that since I could quit smoking, anybody should be able to do it. ( I know, I never said that my thoughts on this subject were logical.) I also feel that they are smoking just to spite me, even though there are lots of other non-smokers around me. Again, lack of logic there. I can’t tell you the number of times DD has reminded me that I was a smoker once and I need to cut people a little slack. I always apologize profusely to her that I spent so many years on that filthy habit, and then tell her that I won’t change the way I feel. Non-smokers are either very sympathetic to other smokers or disdainful.  I guess I’m one of the disdainers. I didn’t quit so that other people’s smoke could get back into my lungs.

To all of you smokers out there, I don’t want to offend you but if you blow smoke my way, I will. Try to see you way clear to quitting.  You will love the way you feel, how fresh your clothing and house will smell, and how great your mouth tastes. I guarantee it.

3 thoughts on “Sunday Scribblings #112 — Quitting II

  1. I can’t say I’ve encountered a rude smoker in years: the kind who exhales right beside me. Then again, I can’t say that I encounter smokers anywhere but on the street as they huddle in all types of weather, banned from everywhere indoors. Outside, the smoke never bothers me, even as a reformed smoker.

  2. fireflynights

    I think it’s a natural feeling that once you conquer something you believe everyone should be able to do it. Smoking has such a bad reputation these days that people should be used to being asked not to smoke. Glad you quit. Some smokers are very respectful of others; some are not.

  3. Good points. I have never been a smoker, but was so glad when my mom and dad quit. Congratulations to you for quitting also. I know for friends of mine that have tried, it is a challenge.

Leave a Reply

